Scrubs: they come in every style, color and pattern imaginable. The classic uniform associated with doctors, nurses and other health professionals since the modern age of medicine. First year medical students are excited and eager to rush to buy their first pair  of scrubs once they receive their list of course materials before the semester begins. Wearing scrubs makes one feel like that they have joined the medical world and are ready to see patients, although they may not be able to read an x-ray or measure blood pressure manually yet. I was just as excited, I couldn’t wait to “scrub up” and feel/act the part of a doctor. However, I was faced with a bit of a dilemma. As part of my hijab outfit, I prefer not to wear pants. I feel much comfortable in dresses, long skirts, and occasionally abayas. Scrub tops are not very long, and most scrub pants are fitted. So, I embarked on a quest to find a modest yet functional scrub outfit.

My first web search was for a knee-length scrub top with wide scrub pants. The pants I found easily, (I even found bell bottoms, which I can’t imagine wearing in an OR or ER), the top..not so much. There are long scrub tops, but they’re made to stop at mid thigh with slits, which kind of defeated the purpose for me. My next idea was to find a scrub dress, the kind that nurses wore in those old movies in the ’50s. I actually did find one that came in several colors, but the style would look ridiculous over pants. After that failure, I decided to search for medical uniforms in Muslim countries to see if they offered any special garb for hijabis. Needless to say, I didn’t find anything except an interesting picture of a niqabi doctor wearing a scrub abaya, which I ruled out immediately.

Just when I was beginning to lose hope, I came across a picture of a nurse wearing a calf-length scrub skirt. After a few web searches, I found the best solution: ankle length scrub skirts! Not only were they flare shaped to avoid the boxy ugliness of an old fashioned skirt, but they came in several colors. Alhamdulillah, it looked amazing, felt great, and was perfect for labs and clinic. I even color coordinated the scrubs with my hijab, and received several comments about how stylish and trendy my scrub style was. I’ll post a pic here, and please email me if you are interested I can send you the link of the company.

scrub skirt

